INTERVIEW Lisa McSwain Seeks 2nd Term As Circuit Court Clerk

by | Jan 11, 2018 | Community, County, Interviews, People, Politics, Videos

East Elementary Archery 2017 State Champions
INTERVIEW Lisa McSwain Seeks 2nd Term As Circuit Court Clerk

Lisa McSwain is the first-term 32nd Circuit Court Clerk serving all of Cullman County.

Mrs. McSwain filed her election qualifying paperwork on Monday. She will be seeking re-election as Circuit Court Clerk for another six-year term.

In this interview, we ask the Circuit Court Clerk to provide a self-assessment on her first term in office, and – if re-elected – what her plan and goals will be for a second term.

Circuit Court Clerks Do A Lot Of Things

• Business Manager at Trial Court Level
• Custodian of All Records
• Fiscal Officer
• Chief Magistrate
• Election Official
• Passport Acceptance Agent
• Case Manager – for all courts
• Purchasing Agent
• Personnel & Human Resource Manager

• Overseer of all Jury Management
• Issues summons, writs, and process
• Prepare appeal transcripts
• Conduct Judicial Sales
• Pre-Qualifying & Monitoring Bonding Companies
• Approving Bonds
• Attending Sessions of Court
• Setting Dockets
• Generating Reports and Statistics
• Maint Inventory Control
• Management & Monitoring the SJIS Information Flow
• Evaluating All Areas of Need and Coordinating Efficient Solutions

There are MANY seats up for grabs in 2018 Election Season in Cullman County (along with those who have qualified so far √):

√ = Officially qualified to run for office
(i) – incumbents
(R) = Republican
(D) = Democrat

Alabama State Senator
• District 4 – Paul Bussman (i)

Alabama State Representative
• District 9 – open seat
√ Scott Stadthagen (R) of Hartselle
√ James R. Bowling (R) of Battleground
√ Justin Morrow (R) of Hartselle

• District 11
√ Randall Shedd (i)

• District 12 – Corey Harbison (i)

Associate Cullman County Commissioners
√ Place 1 – Kerry Watson (R) (i)
√ Place 2 – Garry Marchman (R) (i)

Cullman County Sheriff
• Matt Gentry (i)

Cullman County Coroner
Jeremy L. Kilpatrick (R) (i)

32nd Circuit Judge
Gregory Nicholas (R) (i)

32nd Circuit Judge
Martha Williams (R) (i)

32nd Circuit District Judge
• Wells ‘Rusty’ Turner (i)

32nd Circuit Clerk
Lisa McSwain (i)

Cullman County Probate Judge
√ Tammy Brown (i)

Cullman County Board of Education
• Fairview – Open seat
√ – Bill Ballew
• Good Hope – Jason Speegle (i)
√ Hanceville – Kenny Brockman (i)
√ Vinemont – Mike Graves (R) (i)

We believe all of the above incumbents will announce their intentions for re-election over the next month. However, until the qualifying paperwork is completed and submitted for that individual, no one knows for sure.

Republicans wishing to qualify should contact the Cullman County Republican Party.

Democrats wishing to qualify should contact the Cullman County Democrats.

If other candidates qualify, the Primary Elections will be June 5, 2018, with the General election scheduled for November 6, 2018.

32nd Circuit Court Clerk

INTERVIEW Lisa McSwain Seeks 2nd Term As Circuit Court Clerk

Timothy Collins

Timothy brings an insightful holistic perspective as well as a mountain man tenacity to his various roles at Cullman Today. You can reach him at

Pin It on Pinterest

Share With Friends

Share this post with your friends!